Transfer ownership
Hand over ownership of your community to another member.
About ownership transfer
The community owner has full control over the community, including the ability to delete it. Only the current owner can transfer ownership to another member.
When you transfer ownership:
- The new owner gets all owner abilities, including full control and the crown
- You become a regular member (unless the new owner assigns you a role)
- The transfer takes effect immediately and cannot be undone by you
warning
Transferring ownership is permanent. You will lose all owner abilities. Only transfer ownership to someone you trust completely.
Transfer ownership
- Desktop
- Mobile
- Right-click the community tab, or select the community image in the sidebar.
- Select Community settings.
- Select Members.
- Locate the member to become the new owner.
- Select the menu button . You can also right-click the member.
- Select Transfer ownership.
- Select Transfer.
- In Verify Identity, select Use Password or Use Passkey, then enter your password or use your passkey to confirm.
- Tap the community name to open the menu.
- Tap View members.
- Locate the member to become the new owner.
- Tap their avatar.
- Tap Transfer ownership.
- Tap Continue.
- Verify your identity with your password or passkey.